USA Trip (NYC)

Finally I got a chance to visit USA.
I have been dreaming about this since I was a kid. I have done everything to get into the USA from applying a language program, scholarship and others but none of it was successful. Perhaps because my mother didn’t allow me to go there.
But well, that was the past. I could set foot here by now. The visa process was quite easy for me. Yes, your travel history does matter if you have Indonesian passport. I came 20 minutes late to the Embassy of USA, thought I couldn’t make it but they allowed me to enter. The staff asked me several questions about what I would do there, for how long, who supported my financial expense and also where I have been to. And the last thing he said congrats, good luck!
I flew with Turkish Airlines since it offered direct flight to NYC. It was 10 and a half hours and was quite exhausted, but realized that it was much farther from Indonesia (24 hours 😫) so I was lucky though.
I wore turban-style headscarf as I was worried about the security in the immigration but it was not a problem at all. For Muslim, so don’t worry!
I took uber to get me to the apartment of Indonesian family whom I know from FB. They were so kind and lovely, accepted me as like family.
The jetlag was so bad. I woke up at 3 am 😂 ever since. My first day was going to 9/11 Memorial, Museum of Natural History, and Grand Central. Thought it was supposed to be spring cause in Ankara it was already hot but it was still cold and freakingly freezing.
The next day I went to Brooklyn Bridge, National Public Library, Staten Island where I could see liberty from afar, Times Square and Rockefeller Center. The last day I went to Top of the Rock to enjo NY from above. It was jaw-dropping view!
I thought I would not love NYC since it was full of skycrappers buildings but wait!! I fell in love with it suddenly. It really was like what Alicia Keys described
“In New York, concrete jungle where dreams are made of there’s nothing you can do.
Now you’re in New York, these streets will make you feel brand bew, big light will inspire you. Let’s hear it from New York!!
If you think you will never reach your dream, you are wrong because everyone has a chance to make it happen 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

See you in another adventure story,

Icha Bilal

Leave a Reply

